A New Color for Mr. Penguin

Standard
Our theme this week was penguins which was perfect for the cold snap we had!  I really needed a flannel board story and could not find quite the one so…I made up a box story about a color changing Penguin.

I included the summary of the story in this post.  If you like it or find it useful, please let me know!  I found the perfect template for a penguin on Susan M. Dailey’s website (through Roving Fiddlehead Kidlit).  So without further ado…here is my penguin story!

 

Mr. Penguin is getting ready to go out, but he just isn’t happy with his normal black and white suit.  He doesn’t know what he is going to do until he comes upon a school of magic fish swimming by.  They are all different colors!  Mr. Penguin wants to be just like them so he asks them how he can change his color.  The trick, they say, is to dive deep into the sea after the fish whose color he wishes to be.  That is just what Mr. Penguin does.

He sees a beautiful Yellow fish and down he goes into the sea after the fish whose color he wishes to be.  When Mr. Penguin comes up, he is now…

Yellow!

Mr. Penguin takes a good hard look at himself.  Yellow is pretty and he does love bananas, but…yellow is not for him.  So Mr. Penguin sees another magic fish, a pink one, and down he goes into the sea after the fish whose color he wishes to be.  When Mr. Penguin comes up, he is now…

Pink!

The story continues and Mr. Penguin changes many different colors.

 Mr. Penguin finally begins to miss his old suit of black and white.  He searches the ocean to find one more magic fish, a black and white one.  And, down he goes into the sea after the fish whose color he wishes to be.  When Mr. Penguin comes up, he is now…well, he is black and white…but…

Black and white with a little PIZAZZ!

A New Color for Mr. Penguin
Copyright 2012 Kathleen Lawson

 

I wrote this tale/story because I really wanted to do a box story this week and something that involved a bit more action.  The kids really enjoyed watching Mr. Penguin dive down into the sea and come up a different color.  I don’t think I have ever heard them laugh so much.  I needed to make the penguins fast, and I found the perfect template to make Mr. Penguin from Roving Fiddlehead Kidlit (whose penguins were perfect) who got that template originally from Susan M. Dailey’s website.  She was lucky enough to take one of Susan M. Dailey’s storytime workshops.  Ms. Dailey shares her version of a Penguin story along with her template.  I loved the idea of a polka dotted penguin so I had to add that in at the end!

 

**I used 6 different penguins.  All the colored ones were in the box when I started out (where the kids couldn’t see them).  When I presented the story, I kept just the original black and white Mr. Penguin out and the fish were all taped onto the box on all different sides–the black and white fish is on the last side of the box.  To begin, I took the fish whose color Penguin wishes to be first (yellow) and “dove” it into the box, AKA the ocean.  Then I took the black and white Mr. Penguin and “dove” him into the water after the yellow fish.  I then traded him out inside the box for a different color penguin and when he came up out of the box, presto, he had magically changed his color!  The story continued with Mr. Penguin not happy being yellow so he “dove” into the ocean after a pink magic fish.  Once again I traded Mr. Penguin out and this time he comes up pink.  And, the story continues from there with me just trading out Mr. Penguin as he sees the different color fish he wishes to be until he decides to go back to black and white.  The kids had no idea that there were other penguins inside that I was trading out, especially because I kept moving the box back and forth like the waves in the sea and turning it to see the different colored fish.
10 responses »

  1. This is so cute! Is it 6 different penguins, or is it 1 base penguin with bunch of overlays? Either way, how do you set it up? how do you present the story?

    • Hey Cate! I used 6 different penguins. All the colored ones were in the box when I started out (where the kids couldn’t see them). When I presented the story, I kept just the original black and white Mr. Penguin out and the fish were all taped onto the box on all different sides–the black and white fish is on the last side of the box. To begin, I took the fish whose color Penguin wishes to be first (yellow) and “dove” it into the box, AKA the ocean. Then I took the black and white Mr. Penguin and “dove” him into the water after the yellow fish. I then traded him out inside the box for a different color penguin and when he came up out of the box, presto, he had magically changed his color! The story continued with Mr. Penguin not happy being yellow so he “dove” into the ocean after a pink magic fish. Once again I traded Mr. Penguin out and this time he comes up pink. And, the story continues from there with me just trading out Mr. Penguin as he sees the different color fish he wishes to be until he decides to go back to black and white. The kids had no idea that there were other penguins inside that I was trading out, especially because I kept moving the box back and forth like the waves in the sea and turning it to see the different colored fish. I hope the way I explained this makes sense, but if you have any other questions, please let me know!

  2. Pingback: Short weeks are the longest! | Library Goddess

Leave a Reply

