Snuggles and Cuddles!

Standard

Opening

“Oh What A Miracle”  Walter the Waltzing Worm

Mr. Mouse was hiding in a blanket.  He was just so comfy and cuddly that all he wanted to do was read books about cuddles, snuggles and blankets!

Book

One More Hug for Madison by Carolina Jayne Church

Madison keeps asking her mother for just one more thing before she goes to bed.  Will she ever be able to go to sleep?  The kids LOVED this book!

Flannel Board

Five Little Monkeys Jumpin’ on the Bed
One fell off and he bumped his head
Momma called the doctor and the doctor said…
No more monkeys jumpin’ on the bed! 

 

Action Rhyme

Sewing a Quilt
I have a needle (pretend to hold a needle)
And I have some thread (pull thread off a spool)
And I have a pair of scissors (pretend fingers are scissors)
To sew a quilt for my bed (pretend to sew)
Each piece of fabric I’ll cut into a square (pretend to cut)
Then I’ll sew them together (pretend to sew)
To make a quilt for my teddy bear!  (hug self like a bear)

I found this rhyme from Perry Public Library though I changed the last line to make a quilt for my teddy bear instead of make a quilt for the fair.  I just thought the kids would relate to making a quilt for their teddy bear a little bit better than a quilt for the fair.

Book

Snuggle Up, Sleepy Ones by Claire Freedman

The illustrations in this book are beautiful!  We said “goodnight” to the animals on each page.

Action Rhyme

Teddy Bear, teddy bear, turn around
Teddy bear, teddy bear, touch the ground
Teddy bear, teddy bear, go upstairs
Teddy bear, teddy bear, comb your hair
Teddy bear, teddy bear, turn out the light
Teddy bear, teddy bear, say goodnight!

Song

“Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”
How I wonder what you are
Up above the world so high
Like a diamond in the sky
Twinkle, twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are.

**I have also been doing another story time at one of our other locations.  At the other location I read:

Flora’s Blanket by Debi Gliori

Such a cute story!  Flora just can’t sleep until she finds her special blanket.  Her whole family tries to help.  Where is her blanket hiding?

Piggies by Audrey Wood and Don Wood

This book worked well for the younger crowd I had at this location.  They loved seeing what the little piggies were doing, and at the end we kissed our piggies goodnight!

Closing

“Silly Dance Contest” Jim Gil .  This is a hit with the kids every time!

Craft

We created a cute paper quilt.  Please see my Quilt Craft post for specific details.

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed! « Recipe for Reading

    • Jessica, it is definitely a cute book with really great illustrations! Wonderful for story time and for reading to the kids before bedtime!

  2. Hi! It’s my first time here, and wow I will be back! 🙂 I have a 9-month-old, and am looking forward to doing fun interactive songs, etc with him. You will certainly help with that!! :))

Leave a Reply

