Valentine’s Day

Standard

Opening    “If You’re Happy and You Know It”

Mr. Mouse had a valentine for me!  And, he asked me to be his valentine…of course, I said yes!  This got everyone excited to read books about Valentine’s Day.

Book



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Flannel Story

Eddie the Elephant’s Valentine’s Day Card

This story was adapted from a Valentine’s Day story on Notes from the Story Room blog.   

Eddie the Elephant is so excited for Valentine’s Day.  He makes a beautiful card to give to one of his friends at the Valentine’s Day party.  But, when he gets to the party, he can’t decide which friend to give his card to.  He has only one card and five friends.  Eddie comes up with a great solution.  He cuts his card into five hearts and then has a valentine for each of his friends!   All of his friends were so happy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Activity

“Heart Song”
Sing to the tune of “Mulberry Bush”

Here we go ______ around the room
Around the room, around the room
Here we go ______ around the room
On St. Valentine’s Day!

 Actions we used were hopping, clapping, stomping, sliding, blowing kisses, hugging and at the end…sitting down so we could read the next story!

 

Book


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Flannel Story/Puppet Show

Seven Kisses
I have seven kisses that I want to give away.
Who should I kiss this Valentine’s Day?
I think I’ll kiss my________!

I had to kiss a spider, wolf, bee, duck, Mr. Mouse and then I blew kisses to the kids! This was a great success as the kids got a real kick out of seeing who popped out of the theater next.  I extended my kisses to seven instead of five to make things go a bit longer.

I put my kisses on the flannel board and also used puppets in the puppet theater as I said the rhyme.  Sallie was in charge of the puppets and I gave the puppets a Valentine’s Day kiss. 

 This rhyme came from Storytime Secrets blog.  She put her kisses on a flannel board and put pictures of family members (mommy, daddy, etc.) on the board as she said the rhyme.  Check out her site for more great Valentine’s Day ideas!

 

 

 

Closing

Skipped our normal “Silly Dance Contest” song and instead went with a Valentine’s Day themed…

“If You Love Your Friends and You Know It”

If you love your friends and you know it, clap your hands.
If you love your friends and you know it, clap your hands.
If you love your friends and you know it, and you really want to show it
If you love your friends and you know it, clap your hands!

Actions we used were blow a kiss, jump up and down, said “I love you” and then we gave a hug!

Great Valentine’s Day Books

The Best Kind of Kiss by Margaret Allum
Big Hugs, Little Hugs by Felicia Bond
Where’s My Hug? by James Mayhew
If You’ll Be My Valentine by Cynthia Rylant
How About a Kiss for Me? By Todd Tarpley
Mouse’s First Valentine by Lauren Thompson

Craft

We made a lion magnet out of hearts like the one in the book we read:

My Heart Is Like a Zoo by Michael Hall

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Idea also came from Story Time ABC’s.  She made her lion craft into a lion stick puppet.  We used different shapes of hearts to create the craft.  I had leftover hearts that our volunteer had cut out for decoration in the library so it worked out perfect!

Leave a Reply

