Green is its name-o

Standard

Mr. Mouse came to our Art-themed storytime and he brought a beautiful green “Mouse-terpiece” to show us!

He loves the color Green and wanted to sing a song about it so first we put up the letters to spell Green on the board and then we sang…

G-R-E-E-N
Sing to the tune of B-I-N-G-O
I have a favorite color you see
And Green is its name-o.
G-R-E-E-N, G-R-E-E-N, G-R-E-E-N
And, Green is its name-o. 

This was actually a last minute activity that I put together and it was very easy!  I used some of my bulletin board letters and put velcro on the back.  I cut out five handprints and put velcro on the back as well.  This song went over very well!  I am actually planning on using a version of it this week (D-A-D-D-Y) for Father’s Day!

I adapted this idea from What Happens In Storytime who created a BINGO song version for Mother’s Day.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Flannel Friday Round-Up June 8th « Recipe for Reading

  2. Too cute! I have the same mouse puppet…and everyone loves him. I also use the Bingo song with assorted topics MOUSE, TRUCK and…especially with my very real dog puppet – PIPER. And now…you know I am going to use the color GREEN with my mouse! I can’t wait. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Thanks, Jane! I love the idea of using the Bingo song with “Mouse” and “Truck”–I did not think of those! And, that is so cool you have the same mouse puppet–the kids definitely love him :). He was a gift from my storytime volunteer, I was so excited when she gave him to me!

Leave a Reply

