There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover!

Standard

I am working on creating and performing more puppet shows in my story times.  The kids love puppets and it is a great way to really bring a book to life.  This week we celebrated St. Patrick’s Day, rainbows and all things green!  I came across There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Clover! by Lucille Colandro and just knew I had to bring it to the puppet theater.

All of my pieces and characters (including Mr. Mouse dressed up as a leprechaun)!

Similar to the old tale of There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly–in this version the Old Lady starts by swallowing  a clover…Then she swallows a daisy, butterfly, bird (ewww!), a pot and some gold.
Well, we find out that she swallowed the gold to fill up the pot and she had to swallow the pot in order to carry the bird. She swallowed the bird in order to fly with the butterfly and she swallowed the butterfly to sit on the daisy.  She had to swallow the daisy to make the clover brighter.  Then that crazy Old Lady swallows a fiddle!  Then the Old Lady starts to dance and a little leprechaun (Mr. Mouse!) joins in the fun.

Those two had so much fun, and she giggled so much that out pops a rainbow!

 

Fun story and great puppet show!  Thankfully Sallie, our great volunteer, loves puppets as much as I do so she was happy to help out with the show.  I told the story and talked to the Old Lady as I fed her the interesting food choices.  At the end I opened the book up and read the part where it explains why she ate those certain things in that sequence.  And, then as I was reading the ending the Old Lady went back into the theater and when she came out, she had her rainbow!
Read this book and enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Flannel Friday Round Up – March 16 « ValleyStorytime

    • Thanks, Anne! I am trying to incorporate more puppet shows–thankfully Mr. Mouse is up for the challenge! 😉

Leave a comment